Philadelphia, PA - One of Pennsylvania's most haunted destinations is the Cresson Sanatorium. This historic institution includes several buildings, including the hospital, sanatorium, and End of Life Building. Visitors can explore the grounds independently or join a tour guided by ghost hunters. Visiting the haunted sanatorium requires advance reservations through Ghost Hunts USA. You can reserve a spot online or through their Facebook page.
Haunted Cresson Sanatorium in Cambria County
The sanatorium, which opened in 1907, is still active today. It is located just outside the town of Braddock, PA, and treats tuberculosis patients. Originally, Mary Dobrejcak was a member of the Slovak immigrant community in Pennsylvania. Still, she came to the United States to escape the grim realities of living in a heavily forested wilderness.
Andrew Carnegie donated land to the sanatorium in 1911. The Cresson Tuberculosis Sanatorium opened in 1913 on this ridge in the Allegheny Mountains. The buildings were designed with European influences, with gargoyles and Scottish crests. The sanatorium closed in 1964, but its reputation for ghost tours has continued to grow.
The sanatorium's history has shaped the building's landscape. The grounds were initially covered with mud, and the only mode of transportation was a wagon or sled drawn by two mules. In 1917, Mrs. Thaw donated two cars to the sanatorium. These cars were a Pierce Arrow and a Packard. A young forest of evergreen trees now borders the Sanatorium's grounds.